

# MEDIA RELEASE

#### 14 November 2024

## A new chapter for Melton City Council with 10 Councillors

Melton City Council has welcomed 10 Councillors who will represent the City of Melton for the next four years.

This is the first time the City of Melton has had 10 wards, with one councillor elected to represent each.

The Victorian Electoral Commission formally declared the election results on Monday 11 November. Later that day, Councillors were officially sworn in at Melton City Council Chambers.

#### The elected Councillors for the 2024 – 2028 term are:

- Bullum Bullum Ward Cr Steve Abboushi (re-elected)
- Cambrian Ward Cr Bob Turner (re-elected)
- Coolibah Ward Cr Brandi Morris
- Hilltop Ward Cr John Verdon
- Jackwood Ward Cr Ashleigh Vandenberg (re-elected)
- Lake Caroline Ward Cr Kathy Majdlik (re-elected)
- Mount Atkinson Ward Cr Phillip Zada
- Stringybark Ward Cr Julie Shannon (re-elected)
- Sugar Gum Ward Cr Lara Carli (re-elected)
- Watts Ward Cr Sophie Ramsey (re-elected)

Melton City Council CEO Roslyn Wai conducted the Swearing-in ceremony and congratulated the new Council.

"Congratulations to our new elected Councillors. We look forward to continuing the important good governance partnership with our new Council to continue to deliver important services and initiatives for our wonderful, diverse City."

"I would also like to take this opportunity to thank and recognise the contribution of our outgoing Councillors, Goran Kesic who was Mayor 2021-2022 and Justine Farrugia for their respective commitment and service to the community."

The Mayor and Deputy Mayor will be elected at a Statutory Council Meeting on Thursday 21 November.

# A vibrant, safe and liveable city accessible to all



# MEDIA RELEASE

For more details on the election results visit <u>melton.vic.gov.au/councilelections</u>

### **ENDS**

Melton City Council media enquiries (not for publication): Elissa Haley – Communications Coordinator on 0437 575 825.