



Hon Jacinta Allan MP

Minister for Major Projects Minister for Public Transport

Ref: COR/18/331381

Cr Bob Turner Mayor, City of Melton PO Box 21 MELTON VIC 3337 1 L KIN ZOTO E

1 Spring Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000 Australia Telephone: +61 3 8392 6100 DX 210292

Dear Mayor

Thank you for your letter of 20 March 2018 on behalf of local residents about the Caroline Springs station car park. I apologise for the delay in responding.

I acknowledge your residents' ongoing concerns about commuter car parking at Caroline Springs station. I passed your letter to Transport for Victoria (TfV) for advice.

TfV advised there are no immediate plans to upgrade commuter car parking at Caroline Springs station. I have asked TfV to consider your feedback in future planning for the station.

As you are aware, the Andrews Labor Government recognises that adequate parking plays a key role in the development of a sustainable and usable train network. In 2016, the Government invested \$20 million to upgrade commuter car parking facilities at train stations across the network. The 2017-18 State Budget committed a further \$8.7 million for additional station car parking and station upgrades. As you know, Deer Park station was recently upgraded with 272 new commuter parking spaces as part of these works.

The 2018-19 State Budget will provide a further \$60 million for new and upgraded station car parks, more secure storage facilities for cyclists, and better access for pedestrians at busy metropolitan train stations. More information is available online at <www.victrack.com.au/carparkupgrades>.

As part of the Ballarat Line Upgrade, a new station will be built at Toolern, and Rockbank station will be rebuilt. These projects may help to alleviate pressure at Caroline Springs station. You can find detailed information on the Regional Rail Revival package online at http://regionalrailrevival.vic.gov.au.

Thank you again for sharing your constituents' concerns with me.

Yours sincerely

Hon Jacinta Allan MP Member for Bendigo East Minister for Public Transport

1 1 MAY 2018

1 4 MAY 2018